Biting the bullet

The hardest part of starting a blog is starting a blog.

Maybe I have commitment issues, but figuring out a name, design and even topic to write about has been a hurdle in my otherwise jolly Christmas break.

I’ve been told for a long time now that as an aspiring writer, I need  to blog. It’s good for me or something. Here’s my dilemma: everyone blogs these days. Literally everyone (including my mom). I log into Facebook and immediately see fresh blog posts my friends are sharing about “Five Books to Read by 25,” “Why I’m glad I’m 26 and Single,” or “What I’ve learned from two years of marriage that will change your life.”

Those may be made up, but still.

Everyone has an opinion about everything. Any time something major happens in the news, bloggers flock to their internet homes to share their opinions. And then they share share share via twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc.

It’s not bad. It’s great, actually, that we are so free to share our ideas and opinions with others. But it can also be confusing.

Where do I fit in? How do I find my voice in a world where everyone else already has a microphone? Is what I have to say even valuable?

The best advice I’ve been given about starting a blog was from my friend Kelsy, who simply told me to write for myself. It sounds selfish, but maybe it’s what I need. Instead of trying to write a beautifully worded post centered around a hot current issue that obviously needs my expert opinion before the world can move forward, I’m just going to write for myself. I’m going write to be a better writer, to develop my voice, and to see if maybe people will want to read what I have to say.

So, with that rant behind me, here’s the plan: I’m going to write about exciting things. Like unique things I see/places I go/people I meet. Think general life blog meets travel blog.

Adventure, basically, is the theme I’m going for.

I’m not really sure where it’s going to go, but I do promise to get over my commitment issues and stick with it. Besides, a brand new year is the perfect time for a brand new adventure!

Leave a Reply

