Local Adventures: When Judah and the Lion Plays a Concert Next Door, You Need to Go

Last week I experienced the actual definition of a local adventure when Nashville folksy-Christian band Judah and the Lion played a house show right next door.

Literally…it was about six steps from my front door.

photo 1

The band tweeted about being in the area and wanting to play a spontaneous house show, and my neighbors responded! Social media can be a beautiful thing.

I knew it’d be a great experience, but I was in the middle of studying for my hardest final exam, so I wasn’t sure if going was the smartest idea.

But hey, how often does this kind of thing happen? So I threw caution to the wind and my books out the window (almost) and went to the concert.

And I’m so glad I did.

The show was short lived, thanks to a few irritated neighbors, but it was still such a cool experience. The band was down-to-earth, fun and talented – they played a mix of their own songs and a few surprising covers, like Eminem’s “Lose Yourself.”

I love big stadium shows, but there’s something so unique about hearing a band play to a crowd of 30 from a small, quaintly lit front porch. The intimacy allowed them to interact with us in a personal way that bigger shows don’t.

Unlike rehearsed stadium concerts, that show will never be played again, and that experience will never be repeated. How cool is that?

photo 3

Haylee, me, Caroline and a lion

This local adventure isn’t as universal as ones I usually try to write about – chances are Judah and the Lion didn’t randomly play a show six steps from your front door (unless my roommate/most faithful follower Haylee is reading this right now – your chances are pretty good).

But there’s still a valuable lesson from this experience.

Some adventures have to be discovered, sought after and pursued. But some just happen. Some simply present themselves like an opportunity knocking at your {neighbors} door, and when they do, you should always take them. Who knows when that opportunity will come again?

And hey, I still did well on my exam! Maybe a jam sesh with Judah and the Lion was just the study break I needed.

What adventurous opportunities have come knocking on your door? Tell me about them! 
Blog signature

Leave a Reply

